Unwavering commitment to obtaining justice for our clients A dedicated personal injury & family law team - Working for you

What are the Legal Consequences of a Hit and Run in Florida?

Latest News

The crime of hit and run in Florida comes with severe consequences. If the perpetrator is caught, they could potentially face suspension of their driver’s license, probation, heavy fines, and possible imprisonment, depending on the circumstances involved.

If you have been the victim of a hit and run accident, contact our law firm and ask to speak to an auto accident attorney who can provide you with more information and explain your legal options.

What Happens if a Person Commits a Hit and Run That Results in Injuries?

Under Florida law, if a driver leaves the scene of an accident that results in injuries if caught, they would face a second or third-degree felony which is punishable by up to five years in prison. They would also lose their driving privileges for a minimum of three years and be ordered to pay a $5,000 fine.

If the hit and run results in a fatality, the individual faces a first-degree felony punishable by a minimum of four years and a maximum of 30 years in prison. They would also have their driving privileges revoked for a minimum of three years and be ordered to pay a $10,000 fine.

What Steps Should I Take if I Am a Hit and Run Victim?

If you are ever involved in a hit-and-run accident, there are several steps you must take to protect yourself.

  • Check yourself and any passengers for injuries
  • Call 911 to report the accident. If there are injuries, request emergency medical responders
  • Give law enforcement as much information as possible about the vehicle that hit you, including the make, model, color, and driver. Also, try to get the license plate number
  • Gather information from potential witnesses regarding what they may have seen
  • Take pictures of the damage to your vehicle for your records
  • Contact your insurance company to make a report
  • Contact an auto accident attorney who can assist you with filing a claim

Who Pays For the Damage to My Vehicle After a Hit and Run Accident?

Florida is a no-fault state, meaning accident victims turn to their insurance company first for compensation to pay for property damage to their vehicle and medical expenses. PIP insurance pays up to $10,000 for accident-related expenses as long as you follow all of the rules that accompany filing a claim.

If your expenses are more significant than the money provided by PIP, you may need to turn to other policies you hold, such as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. If the driver is caught, you can file a claim against their insurance company for damages your insurance will not cover.

Why Do I Need to Hire a Lawyer if I Am a Hit and Run Victim?

If you have experienced a hit and run, you are most likely angry and unsure of what to do next. Our law firm’s attorneys understand your feelings and are dedicated to seeking justice for your injuries or property damage.

We will act as your legal advocate with the insurance company to ensure you recover total and fair compensation after your accident. Contact our law office by calling 772-773-6697 and ask to schedule a free consultation.

Related Articles
...

What is the Minimum Amount of Auto Insurance Required in Florida?

Read More
...

Personal Injury Attorneys, Patrick Grall & Erin Grall, Named To 2017 Super Lawyers Rising Stars List

Read More
...

How Do I Pursue A Premises Liability Claim In Florida?

Read More