Unwavering commitment to obtaining justice for our clients A dedicated personal injury & family law team - Working for you

What is the Minimum Amount of Auto Insurance Required in Florida?

Latest News

Florida drivers must have a specified amount of car insurance before legally registering their vehicle. If a driver fails to maintain their car insurance coverage, they risk having their license suspended and other fees.

The following are the basic amounts of coverage that drivers in Florida must carry:

  • A minimum of $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP).
  • A minimum of $10,000 in Property Damage Liability (PDL).

Since Florida is a no-fault state, you must turn to your insurance company first to recover damages when you are involved in an accident. If you have been involved in an accident with an underinsured or uninsured motorist and your damages exceed your policy limits, you may have to rely on other policies you carry to make up the difference.

If you have legal issues that stem from a car accident, contact our law offices, and ask to schedule a free initial consultation with one of our highly qualified attorneys.

What Does PIP Cover?

Personal Injury Protection insurance covers up to 80 percent of medical expenses and 60 percent of lost wages if you cannot work due to an accident. In Florida, an individual must use their PIP coverage before any other type. In addition, PIP coverage will provide up to $5,000 in compensation benefits if a death occurs due to a car accident.

What is Personal Damage Liability Coverage?

Personal Damage Liability Coverage (PDL) is insurance coverage that pays for damage to another individual’s vehicle, whether caused by the insured or another person driving their vehicle. Florida law stipulates that drivers must carry this type of insurance coverage. For example, if you are involved in an accident and damage a fence, PDL will cover the cost of repairs up to $10,000.

Should I Purchase More Than the Minimum Amount of Car Insurance?

PIP and PDL insurance minimums each only provide up to $10,000 in coverage if you are involved in an accident. Florida is a no-fault state, and you must rely on your insurance coverage to pay medical bills and expenses related to car repairs. Only after you have exhausted your PIP and PDL insurance coverage are you allowed to pursue compensation from the other party’s insurance company. This can be expensive and time-consuming. Therefore, it is a good idea to purchase more car insurance to be assured you have enough to cover your expenses should you be involved in an accident.

Can Your Law Firm Help Me Recover Damages After I Have Been Involved in an Accident?

If you have been injured in an accident and the cost of your repairs and medical expenses exceeds your insurance coverage, you may be eligible to recover compensation from the other party’s insurance company. However, insurance laws in Florida can be overly complex and confusing to try and navigate on your own.

Our law firm is dedicated to assisting individuals to recover the financial compensation they need to make car repairs, cover medical expenses, and go on with their lives. Contact our law firm by calling 772-773-6697 and ask to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case.

Related Articles
...

Who Pays For Accident-Related Expenses in Florida?

Read More
...

Florida Motorcycle Accident Attorneys Help Victims

Read More
...

The Pains Of Social Media After An Accident

Read More